Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University (MBSTU)  is the 12th oldest public university and second science and technology specialized public university in Bangladesh focusing in science, technology and business. It is named after the charismatic political leader Mawlana Abdul Hamid Khan Bhashani. The medium of instruction is English. Every year, in total 815 students are enrolled in undergraduate programs to study in this institution. The number of teachers is about 206. The university has continued to expand over the last few years. This includes the construction of new academic buildings, library building, teachers dorm, vice chancellor’s residence, several halls for the students etc. There are five halls (Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Hall, Shahid Ziaur Rahman Hall, Jananeta Abdul Mannan Hall for men and Shahid Janani Jahanara Imam Hall, Alema Khatun Bhashani Hall for women). Md. Alauddin is vice-chancellor again for 4 years (2017-2021) after his first tenure (2013-2017). In 2021, MBSTU ranked as the top research university in Bangladesh (610th in the world) by Scopus-SCImago institution ranking.In 2020, MBSTU was ranked 1st among all the universities of Bangladesh based on Scimago Institutions Rankings.
AddressSantosh, 1902
Hours: Open 24 hours
Vice-chancellor:   M. Alauddin
Notable alumni: Sayed AsaduzzamanArafat Rahman,
Founder: Sheikh Hasina
Founded: October 12, 1999
Number of students: 5,671
Academic staff206
Postgraduates: 1,671

Table of Contents hide


  • It has a modest-size campus with limited capacity for residence within walking distances of the academic buildings.
  • The campus occupies about 70.69 acres (0.2861 km2)[and a budget of approximately 3.66 billion BDT has been approved by the current government for the enlargement of the university.
  • This area accommodates five faculties, the administrative building, the central library, cafeteria, A2,


The academic departments of the university offer degree programs in different engineering and science disciplines under five faculties – the faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Life Science, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Business Administration and Faculty of Social Science. Dept. of Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering is historically prominent in the country which has astounding lab facilities in collaboration with the University of Saskatchewan. All the departments offer undergraduate degree programs and currently 15 departments offer the graduate program. These are the following all departments

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Bike Spree
Enable registration in settings - general
Compare items
  • Total (0)